The truth of my job.

Back in early 2016, I had applied for a job in the federal government. Me. The long haired, flannel shirt wearing, twenty-something that has the mentality of a modern day hippie.

I heard back four months after my initial application and they said that they were interested in me but for an odd reason. You see, when I applied for my job I *never* had a real job before.  I helped friends move and also looked over essays for friends and sometimes revised them if they gramatically didn’t make sense or were formatted wrong (to this day, the twenty or so papers I’ve looked over have gotten nothing lower than a B). But, that stuff didn’t pay cash. I would get paid in like pizzas or bottles of Bacardi. What grabbed attention was the fact that I was a 7 year, 65,000 mile cyclist (at the time) and that I had written blogs as far back as 2011. In an interview, I pulled up my cycling archive and one of my former blogs. They liked that I was a genuine writer but didn’t like that I had absolutely no real experience in jobs that didn’t involve friends.

I got hired at the end of December. With a caveat.

A compromise was made. After I passed background and security checks and all that other good stuff,  we made an agreement. I would get to work one day a week and show what I can do until the end of the semester. At the end of the semester, it would be decided if I had quality to keep me on board or sucked so much they would cut me.

Last week was the final week of the semester.

Today, I was notified that I have been hired as part-time officially and will be going to work three days a week starting next week. I’m beyond excited. I’m doing what I love and the people I work with are amazing.

 

Leave a Reply

